You Say You Want A Resolution

January 6, 2010

You Say You Want A Resolution

Staying True to Your New Year’s Resolutions.

Coaching For Life

By Alyssa Huntley

The new year often equals a new resolution. Promises made to yourself to begin a new healthy lifestyle, drop a bad habit or in some way improve your life.

Look back at last years resolution; how long did you stick with it?

Resolutions that don’t get fulfilled, perhaps are not high on your list of priorities, and that’s okay. Some questions to ask yourself before setting a resolution are:

  • How much do I really want this outcome?
  • Is it a true desire, or something I think I “should” do?
  • Is working towards this goal going to enhance my life, or just create more stress?

Then really weigh out your options.

  • What’s going to be best for me mentally, physically and emotionally?

Then, if you are serious about change, follow this formula for creating lasting results.

Use Positive Terms

Ask yourself:

  • What do I want?
  • What will that do for me?

Determine whether you are moving towards or away from? Example: “I want to enjoy peak health” (towards) rather than “I want to stop eating junk food” (away). By focusing on the towards, you will be less tempted to think about the things you don’t want, and get sucked back into the old behaviour.

Excite Your Senses

Sensing the results, helps make goals feel more real.

  • What will I see, hear and feel when I’ve achieved it?

Begin and Maintain

  • Can I initiate and maintain what is needed for this goal?
  • Who’s help, expertise and support can I enlist?

Appropriate Context

  • With whom, when and where do I want it?
  • Am I ready?

Keep the Present Benefits

  • What do I get out of my current behaviors, that I want to keep?

Example: while eating junk food is an unhealthy habit, it does bring a sense of comfort and enjoyment.

  • How can I hold onto the positive aspects, while moving towards my new goal?

Ecology Check

  • Is it worth the cost, energy and time it may take?

Action

  • What are my next steps?
  • What will I commit to this week?

Review

Plan a date to review your progress.

By following these outlined steps you will greatly improve your chances of succeeding with your resolution. Want to take it a step further, and really ensure that you will attain your gaol; attend, one of these two workshops “Absolute Resolute” January 9th or “You Say You Want a Resolution” January 23rd. Call (705).340.5530 for more information.

image credited to coco sunday 🙂

Leave a Reply

