Goal Setting

November 10, 2011

Establishing goals is more than just thinking about what you might like in the future; it’s writing it out, thinking it through, creating the steps and actions.  Here are some guidelines for setting a goal and ensuring that it will fit nicely intoi your life so that success becomes easier for you to attain.

Let’s get started:

Set Yourself Up For Success. 

  1. State Your Goal in a Positive Frame

Ask yourself the following questions;

What do I want?

What will that do for me?

Am I moving towards something,  or away from something?

Example: “I want to enjoy peak health” is a “towards goal”, while “I want to stop smoking” is an “away from” goal.  Setting a  positive outcome (towards goal) is generally more motivating than an “away from” goal, because the focus is on what you want.  This helps to eliminate the mental  temptation of the negative (i.e. smoking), since the action itself is mentioned in the “away from goal”.  A positive outcome has a new aim, and that new aim carries a positive direction and good energy.

     2.  Create a Sensory Experience

Visualizing the results in your mind will help make your goals clear.  Picture yourself in your own shoes once you have attained the goal. From this point of view ask yourself:

How do I know I’ve got it?

What do I see?

What do I hear?

What do I feel now that I’ve achieved it?

What do I think now that I’ve achieved it?

What do others see me doing, now that I have achieved my goal?

What do others hear me saying?

This makes your goals feel real, and sets you up for success, when you can know what it will be like.  It can be an excellent motivator.

  1. Begin and Maintain

    These next questions help to let you know whether your goal is realistic, or whether you may need to make a few adjustments.  Ask yourself the following questions:

    Can I initiate and maintain what is needed for this goal?

If not, where do I have control and where does influence rest with others?

Who’s help, expertise and support can I enlist?

  1. Appropriate Context

With whom, when and where do I want this outcome?

Equally important, with whom, where and when do I not want this outcome?

How long do I want this for?

Am I truly ready?

  1. Keeping Hold of the Present Benefits

What do I get out of my current behaviors, that I want to keep?

Example: while smoking is a destructive behavior; it’s positive intentions could be, to bring relaxation, a break from work, and social time. How would the person who wishes to be healthier keep the positive intent while eliminating the destructive behavior? A healthy option may be, to find new ways of relaxing, getting a break from work and socializing. When the positive aspects are still being met, and in healthier way, it’s easier to make the changes you want. The good aspects are kept, not eliminated, so your needs are still being met, while you’re changing the behavior from a negative to a positive.

How can I hold onto the positive aspects, while moving towards my new goal?

  1. Ecology Check

Test your outcome against your values. When you ignore certain values, you set yourself up for self sabotage and inner conflict. Listen to your intuition as you create your goals, and choose carefully. If something doesn’t feel quite right, it’s worth the time to change it, so it will fit perfectly into your life. Important questions to ask are;

Is it worth it?

Is it worth the time?

Is it worth the energy?

Will anything be lost as a result?

How do I establish a win-win situation?

How does this goal support my values and major beliefs?

How does this goal relate to who I am?

Is this the right answer or solution for me?

Is this outcome good for me?

  1. Action

Now let’s set the steps to lead you to success, Ask yourself:

What is my next step?

When will I take it?

What step will follow?

When will I make the action?

What is the big picture plan?

Where is half way between now and completion?

  1. Confidence

 Confidence in your abilities and your goal are also important factors, in creating success.  Do you believe that you can do it?  Questions to ask yourself:

What is my current level of confidence in my ability to succeed?

Can I do it?

How do I believe in myself?

How do I build up my self confidence (if need be)?

  1. Review

Plan a date to review where you are on the road to achieving your outcome. Set up a way to check-up on your self and your success.

Questions:

How often do I want to review my progress?

How will I remember to review my progress?

You can do anything you put your mind to, now and always.

Alyssa Huntley11:11 goal setting

* Well Formed Outcomes are one of the main cornerstones of NLP (Neuro-Linguistic Programming).   Credits go to NLP’s founders’ John Grinder, Richard Bandler, Judith DeLozier, Leslie Cameron-Bandler, Robert Dilts and David Gordon.

Leave a Reply

