Smart goals…

May 4, 2012

SMART

Goal Setting

SMART is an acronym that is useful when goal setting, it slightly overlaps the Well Formed Outcome model, and is often used solely on it’s own. The benefit of SMART goal setting is that it’s relatively easy to remember and quick to go over. Here’s what each letter stands for; plus some NLP and coaching questions to really help you make the most of each aspect.

Specific

 How specific is my goal?

 How can I be even more particular and to the point when setting up my goal?

 Can I hone in even more to what’s important about my goal?

 What do I really, really want?

 What will that do for me?

Measured

How will I measure my results?

How will I know when I’m there?

How am I going to track my success?

Attainable

 Can I truly attain this goal?

 Is this goal doable for me and by me?

 Do I believe I can have this outcome?

Realistic

 Is this a reality based goal?

 How realistic is this goal really?

Timed

 What time line do I give myself for attaining this goal?

 At what intervals will I check my progress?

The SMART goal setting process is a good place to start when you are thinking of a goal, it lays the ground work, and establishes some of the basics.   It’s strongly recommended to do both the Well Formed Outcome model and the SMART model when setting out a  serious goal for yourself. While it may seem slightly redundant, the clearer you can set your goal and the more real it becomes in your mind the easier it will be to attain it.

YOU CAN do it!

Alyssa Huntley

http://www.1111hfullcirclehealing.ptenhance.com

For personal coaching or NLP therapy please call or email me at

705-340-5085 alyssahuntley@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

